How to change your iPhone’s AIM IM notification sound. [jailbreak required]

I like the new push feature in the recently released AIM Instant Messager app for iPhone, but I don’t like how it would make the highly recognizable trademark AOL Instant Message notification sound. Of course you could turn it off, but I don’t want to disable the feature, I just want to customize it.

If you have a jailbroken iPhone with SSH access (OpenSSH) installed, you should be able to do what I did. (Presumably with Netatalk AFP access, too.)

I was snooping around my folders and here’s what I found:

In the folder
/private/var/mobile/Applications/

You will see a list of folders that appear to be hexidecimal. Each one of these folders contain a different application. You will probably have to do trial and error and find out which one of these contain an AIM.app folder, as follows:
/private/var/mobile/Applications/XXXXXXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXXXXXXXXXX/AIM.app/

Inside this folder, I was searching for a .wav or .mp3 or .m4a, but I didn’t see any. Then, I remembered this post which led me to try this:

I noticed a file without an extension simply named ‘IM’. I downloaded it, added a .wav extension and it played the IM sound for me.

On my computer, I found peanut-butter-jelly-time.wav, renamed it to ‘IM’ (without a file extension), replaced the IM file in the AIM.app folder.

So now, every time I get an Instant Message Pushed to my phone, it will be down right AWESOME.

3 Responses to “How to change your iPhone’s AIM IM notification sound. [jailbreak required]”

  1. A IPhone user Says:

    Thank you so much i was looking for hours trying to find the root of the single im beep .wav file. Who would have know they kept it hidden. Kudos to you.

    For My AIM i took the Zelda’s “Navi’s, “hey.” and for the Instant message beeps and i did “Hey, Listen” for the Double IM.

    Much Respect, thanks

  2. blogging Says:

    blogging…

    […]How to change your iPhone’s AIM IM notification sound. [jailbreak required] « dp.tronz.trying.wordpress?[…]…

  3. heidipeters55371 Says:

    u0645u0648u0631u062f u062fu064au06afu0631 u0627u064au0646 u06a9u0647nu062au0627 u062du0627u0644u0627 u0628u0647 u0627u064au0646 u0641u06a9u0631 Click http://getl.eu/?i=youme10080

Leave a comment